top of page

Chapter of Rose Croix


Chapters of Rose Croix conferring the 15th to 18th degrees inclusive. The 15th and 16th degrees relate to the rebuilding of the Second Temple of Zerubbabel. The 17th degree is an approach to, and the 18th degree a recognition of the Christian ethics in universal terms, thus assisting in the building, in our hearts, of the Third Temple, not made with hands. The 18th degree is supplemented by the beautiful Maundy Thursday and Easter ceremonies. The 15th and 18th degrees are obligatory.


15° Knight of the East
16° Prince of Jerusalem
17° Knight of the East and West
18° Knight of the Rose Croix

The 15th Degree: Knight of the East

As many other degrees in Scottish Rite, 15th Degree is known by several names: Knight of the East, or Knight of the Sword, or Knight of the Eagle in Southern Jurisdiction, and Knight of the East, or Knight of the Sword in Northern Jurisdiction and Canada. The lesson of the 15° is to rebuild the Masonic Temple of liberty, equality and fraternity in the souls of men. In this degree... Read More

Anchor 15

The 16th Degree: Prince of Jerusalem

The lessons of the 16th Degree: Prince of Jerusalem are to aid those who labor to build the Symbolic Temple; to judge equitably and fairly; to keep faith in the justice and beneficence of God and to press forward with hope for the persecuted and oppressed. This degree teaches "heroism of patience, the nobility of self-sacrifice" and compassionate judgment, along with charity, fidelity and... Read More

Anchor 16

The 17th Degree: Knight of the East and West

The lessons of the 17th Degree: Knight of the East and West are to work, reflect and pray; to hope, trust and believe; to teach the truths that are hidden in allegory and concealed by the symbols of Freemasonry. The lessons of this degree are that loyalty to God is man's primary allegiance, and the temporal governments not founded upon God and His righteousness will inevitably... Read More

Anchor 17

The 18th Degree: Knight of the Rose Croix

The lessons of the 18th Degree: Knight Rose Croix (Southern Jurisdiction and Canada), or Knight of the Rose Croix de Heredom (Northern Jurisdiction), are to practice virtue; to labor to eliminate vice; to purify humanity; to be tolerant of the faith and creed of others. This degree teaches that life and it's strengths come from God. The rose signifies... Read More

Anchor 18
bottom of page