top of page

How to Join

If You Are Not a Mason

Before you can join the Scottish Rite, you first must become a Master Mason in a Lodge under a Grand Lodge that belongs to the Conference of Grand Masters in North America (COGMINA) or to a Grand Lodge recognized by a COGMINA Grand Lodge.


For further information, contact the Sacramento Scottish Rite who will in turn assist you in finding the Masonic lodge nearest you.

If You Are a Blue Lodge Mason

Interested in Learning about More Light in Masonry?

The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry is commonly known as the Scottish Rite. It is one of several groups that are part of the worldwide fraternity known as Freemasonry. The Scottish Rite is the largest and most widely practiced Masonic Rite in the world and employs a Lodge system.

It is our mission to improve its members and enhance the communities in which they live by teaching and emulating the principles of Brotherly Love, Tolerance, Charity, and Truth while actively embracing high social, moral, and spiritual values including fellowship, compassion, and dedication to God, family and country.

There is a lot More.

While there is no Masonic degree more important than that of Master Mason, there is a long tradition—almost as old as Freemasonry—of “high degrees” that expand upon and elaborate the teachings and lessons of the first three degrees. The Scottish Rite degrees teach a series of moral lessons culminating in the 32°, Master of the Royal Secret.


The Scottish Rite continues a Master Mason’s education in many ways:

• 4°-32° Degree work
• Speakers at meetings
• Leadership conferences
• Scottish Rite Journal
• Publishing Masonic books
• Scottish Rite Research Society

To join the Scottish Rite you must:

• be a Master Mason in good standing in a regular lodge;
• complete a petition and include the appropriate fee;
• attend a “Reunion” where the Scottish Rite Degrees are conferred.

What are Supreme Council, Orients, and Valleys?

The governing body of the Scottish Rite is the Supreme Council. It is composed of active and deputy members of the 35 states and several overseas jurisdictions that make up the Southern Jurisdiction. Each state or jurisdiction that belongs to the Southern Jurisdiction is called an Orient. The local Scottish Rite body is called a Valley. Each Valley has up to four Scottish Rite bodies, and each body confers a set of degrees.In the Southern Jurisdiction these are:

• Lodge of Perfection (4°–14°)
• Chapter of Rose Croix (15°–18°)
• Council of Kadosh (19°–30°)
• Consistory (31°–32°)

The Supreme Council confers the 33rd Degree of Sovereign Grand Inspector General.

Contact Us

For More Information about Joining the Scottish Rite

Call (916) 452-5881 or email:

bottom of page